Super Metroid

This list of games won’t be in any particular order. It won’t feature some of the cornerstones of gaming as far as we know it. Some of the games will be technically clunky and perhaps not seen as much good by most people. All of them however have influenced how I see games. They have all, at some point, made a mark that has stuck around for years.

My Sister is older than me by three years. Whilst we may have had our fair share of sibling arguments in our time we’ve got along for the most part. One occasion of pure little Brother malice on my part occured when I went with my Dad to buy the Super Nintendo console that would be my Sister’s birthday present. Inwardly jealous that she was getting a new console before me I convinced our Dad that, rather than buy it with the Zelda game she’d love,  Street Fighter 2 would be a far better option. Yes, I was a total prick when I was 12.

It backfired in spectacular fashion when she was allowed to keep the console in her room and I was forced to ask her permission to enter whenever I wanted a few rounds with Ryu. This continued until I got my own SNES many months later. Being pretty much into different games at the time (she really didn’t like Street Fighter 2 it turned out) we played games alone in our separate rooms across the hall.

Until the summer of 1994.

Until Super Metroid.

Cartridge based games were massively expensive back in the 90’s, often being around the £60 mark in some cases. I have a strong memory of us splitting the cost of Samus Aran’s 16 bit debut down the middle as we both wanted to play it. The box was huge, double the size of any other cart packaging there had ever been before. Nintendo actually broke thier own rule about uniform box size to bundle the game with its own printed guidebook complete with detailed artwork. It was the sort of thing you’d be skinned an extra £15 today at the counter of Game.

My sister and I loaded up the game for the first time and witnessed that intro. The speech sample of ‘The last Metroid is in captivity, the galaxy is at peace’ was a truly great moment as was stepping into the research station after receiving a distress signal. The opening escape from the station and landing on the planet below is still one of the most atmospheric introductions to a game world I’ve ever had the pleasure of visiting.

The summer of 94 was, unusually for Scotland, quite warm yet we both spent hours inside taking it in turns to play through the entire game. We drew maps detailing each part of the cavernous system underneath Planet Zebes. Super Metroid wasn’t a game to hold you and give infinite details on how each of Samus’ weapons worked. Progress in Super Metroid was made by exploration and experimentation. It was because of this that sharing tips back and forth with my sister was one of the best parts of playing through it. Gaining Samus’ powers back gradually after losing them all after the introduction was a fine feeling. A new item would allow access to a previously fenced off area. 

The ending, without spoiling a 23 year old game, is fantastic especially considering it features no pre rendered footage nor dialogue. It remains one of the best conclusions in gaming. I think we were both in the room when the credits rolled.

Sometimes good games are made even better by who you play them with. Super Metroid shall forever be considered as the game that stopped my Sister and I gaming in separate rooms.

Leave a Reply

