Super Mario Bros 2

There are far better Mario games than this. Mario 64 broke new ground by transferring the plumber’s jump mechanic to three dimensions and Super Mario Galaxy had bucket loads of inventions behind the planet based levels. Quite famously Super Mario Brothers 2 on the Nintendo Entertainment System wasn’t even a ‘proper’ Mario game. Rather than release the original Japanese sequel to the first Mario game in the West, Nintendo deemed it far too difficult for gamers in America and  Europe. As a plan B a game know as Doki Doki Panic was repurposed and released instead. Rather than jumping on enemies to kill them you have to land on them, pick them up and then throw them. Bowser is also nowhere to be seen. Mario Brothers 2 is often seen as a black sheep, something to be shunned and forgotten. For me though, it’s the first Mario game I ever completed and will therefore always hold a high place in my heart.

mariobros2.jpg

My NES didn’t come bundled with the original Super Mario Bros, nor do I have memory of having SMB3 later on (I think the first time I played that particular game was when it was part of the Super Mario Collection on the Super Nintendo). Super Mario Bros 2 is therefore my earliest experience of Nintendo’s mascot. As a young kid I joined Club Nintendo which gave you a magazine through the post every few months. There was an entire issue dedicated to the game with massive stitched screenshot maps.

My Dad and my Sister spent some time in China in the early 90’s. I stayed home with my Mum for the two weeks they were away. Their return journey saw them getting stuck in Istanbul for a night due to flights getting cancelled. Among the objects my Dad brought back  were two small statues of terracotta soldiers, some kind of chest infection which kicked his asthma off grand style not long afterwards and a copy of Super Mario Bros 2. To this day I’m not sure where he got it from. It certainly wasn’t Asia as it was clearly the PAL edition. I’ll take a guess at Dixon’s duty free in Heathrow Airport.

First came the character select screen. A definite change to the usual Mario formula. Even more surprising was the fact the characters were not interchangeable pallet swaps. Toad was fast, Princess could float through vast portions of levels, Luigi had a very strange high jump that seemed to be accomplished by waggling his legs and Mario was down the middle average.

mario2.png

It doesn’t play as fast as any other Mario game, the pace seems slow and jumping up and gaining score multipliers by hitting enemies in sequence isn’t really an option. There is however a certain otherworldly charm about a game which is entirely Mario’s dream. There’s a strange theme regarding root vegetables being thrown around, vases that are bigger on the inside than the outside and alternate shadow worlds that hide bonus items which can only be seen via small bottles of chemicals.

Most of the enemies in Mario Brothers 2 haven’t really ever been seen again in the series. There’s the introduction of the Shy Guys who have since popped up a few times (in Mario Kart mainly).  As far as I’m aware Wart, the final boss who takes the shape of a large frog, hasn’t been seen again. The game’s influence on the series overall is fairly minimal and yet it’s probably because it’s so different that I remember it so well.

I played Mario Bros 2 intently over a period of a few weeks. It was one of the first games I played so much that I knew every in and out of each level. I was probably trying to speedrun the game years before speedrunning was a thing. I loved it that much. I’ve played a lot of the mainline Mario games since and, whilst each are pretty amazing in their own right, none of them hold the memories and are linked with such a time in my life as this one.

Leave a Reply

