My Thoughts on the Nintendo Direct (18.6.24)

Nintendo Direct time baby, because it’s what would have been considered E3 season we have a juicy 40 minute presentation to get into today. It’s only dawned upon me now but it’s strange seeing a bunch of companies presentations go on at the same time despite E3 being a thing of the past. Kind of crazy how despite E3 being dead the gaming Industry still announces all of it’s games in June like E3 is still alive. Anyway I literally had no expectations going into this, we weren’t getting any news on the Nintendo Switch U and as for games I don’t have any idea what Nintendo can remake. I didn’t expect any big hitter games like a brand new Mario or Zelda. We’ll also get a 62nd trailer for Luigi’s Mansion 2 HD and Fantasy Life i: the girl who steals time because it’s a tradition at this point. Anyway that’s enough preamble let’s see if this Nintendo Direct was good or not good!

We open up this presentation with Mario and Luigi Brothership which looks awesome. I honestly thought this series was long since dead seeing as the last game was on the 3Ds nine years ago and Alphadream had closed their doors many years back. But low and behold we actually got a brand new entry in this series which is great. It looks incredibly charming and wacky and this will possibly be a day one purchase for me. It’s also been a crazy time for Mario RPGS too the the SNES original Mario RPG as well as The Thousand Year Door getting remade and now Mario and Luigi rising from the dead.

I am stoked to try this series for real this time

Fantasian Neo Dimension is a game that looks kind of cool I guess. These Directs are always choc full of RPGs that always feel kind of samey tot he point where I had a revelation while I was watching this Direct. I feel like I want to like RPGS but I need one that has a good quirk that grabs me outside of the combat. I recently started playing Persona 5 Royal and I actually found that interesting because of it’s fantastic art direction, boping soundtrack and the social-Link system as well as a good combat system. I feel a lot more of these RPGs in general would benefit from maybe adding something interesting outside of battling. I know this has nothing to do with Fantasian Neo Dimsension I just felt like saying it and this game gave me the opportunity to do so.

Anyway we also got an update for Nintendo Switch Sports with Basketball getting added and I don’t think anybody really cares. This game released April of 2022 and went dormant for over a year and now they come back and update it out of the blue. I do not understand the logic here but of all the games to bring back from the dead. Why not give Mario Maker 2 or Animal Crossing New Horizons a new update because I feel more people would actually like that instead of basketball being in Nintendo Switch Sports.

Dragon Quest 3 HD-2D looks pretty good, I’m not a Dragon Quest guy but I seriously love these styles of games. Also I’m glad that they’re also remaking the first and second Dragonquest games but why couldn’t they just put all three games together in one package because that would just make more sense.

DK Country Returns HD is here and it’s releasing next year which is kind of wild for a port. It was only on Wii and 3Ds and I’m okay it’s coming to Switch. Not a game I’m going to pick up as the only non Mario platformer that Nintendo has that I like is the Yoshi series. I’ve given the new Donkey Kong Country games a go when I played a bit of Tropical Freeze but it didn’t really do it for me but who knows maybe one day I’ll replay that or this one to give the series a second chance.

Funko Fusion looks like Disney Infinity only if the figures were 70x uglier and that’s an insult to Disney Infinity. With that said this game does not look good on Switch and it’s not because the game stars Funko Pops. I’m sure it’ll be fun for those who collect Funko Pops although I feel those psychopaths would rather spend the combined cost of this game on buying more terrible quality figures of their favourite characters.

Then we have Luigi’s Mansion 2 HD and I cannot wait for this game to release so Nintendo can actually stop talking about it. Already this is an incredibly weird game to re-release when the 3Ds but it has been over a year since it’s announcement and it’s coming out next month and they’ve added nothing to it. It’s literally just the 3Ds game on Switch with enhanced visuals and I do not understand why they feel the incessant need to keep bringing it back up every time a Direct rolls around. It’s not like they added a whole new campaign where Luigi visits Raccoon City or something it’s just the 3Ds game. Also why didn’t they make this a combo pack with the first Luigi’s Mansion which was already remade for 3Ds so that way all three Luigi’s Mansion games are on Switch. Also nothing new was announced in this trailer at all so there was no point in putting it here whatsoever.

More Nintendo Switch online stuff happening including Metroid Zero Mission, The Legend of Zelda Four Swords Adventure, Turok and Perfect Dark. Metroid Zero Mission and Perfect Dark are some that I’m liking the look of personally. This isn’t a crazy lineup but certainly some good titles to add to the good old collection.

More Mario Party in the form of a new game called Super Mario Party Jamboree which is a great title by the way. There are so many fun boards and modes in this one but I cannot justify the purchase. I don’t play Mario Party enough to warrant spending money on a game like this and also I got Mario Party Superstars for my birthday last year. As for why this game wasn’t just tacked onto Superstars which could have been tacked onto Super Mario Party. Oh well if you haven’t got a Mario Party for your collection this looks to be a good one to add especially if you hate having friends.

Around Halfway through we see a trailer for a new 2D Zelda game…kind of. The Legend of Zelda Echoes of Wisdom kills puts Zelda in the protagonist’s chair this time meaning this Legend is actually about Zelda for once in over 30 years. It looks to play very different from a normal 2D Zelda romp as Zelda can copy objects she sees in the overworld and then recreate them whenever she desires. She can also create enemies to fight for her which is incredibly cool. I can see this game having some incredibly fun puzzle solving that’s more open ended and if that’s true I cannot wait to see people beat this game by only using a table. I’m honestly incredibly excited for this one to release because not only is Zelda actually getting a Legend that’s about her but this game looks great. Today is certainly the year for Nintendo Princesses; September 26th cannot come soon enough.

Forgot how pretty this artstyle looks

Right After a new Zelda game we get confirmation that Just Dance is coming to the Switch and I can finally sleep easy tonight. You guys probably don’t know but I have had vivid night terrors and violent insomnia over the idea no Just Dance this year. In all seriousness I find it hysterical that Nintendo can have a presentation where they announce a new Zelda game and follow it up with Just Dance, I love this company when they aren’t copyright striking anybody who enjoys their games.

Marvel Vs Capcom 2!!!! I’ve never been an enjoyer of Marvel Vs Capcom but Capcom is rereleasing it alongside some more Marvel games made by Capcom. It looks incredibly fun and honestly I might give MVC 2 a go. Of course because it’s a Capcom compilation title there are all kinds of goodies and bonus content thrown in. I know my father will be most pleased with this game’s release.

One of the best announcements of the Direct

Speaking of Capcom we have the Ace Attorney Investigations Collection which is pretty awesome. This sub series has been stuck in Japan for a while now and it’s finally coming in English and on Modern Consoles. The reason I bring this up is because I have listened to two songs from this game (Lying Coldly and Wanting to Find the Truth) and if you know me I tend to get interested by games with good soundtracks. I am yet to sink my teeth into the Ace Attorney trilogy but after I’ve given the series a fair shake I want to play this one.

For our final announcement we have Metroid Prime 4…Wait Metroid Prime 4? Yes after 7 years of just a logo and a development restart we finally have actual footage of Metroid Prime the 4th. It looks incredibly good, I’m not too familiar with the Metroid Prime series but I feel I’ll have to to prepare for this game. It’s coming out in 2025 so I imagine this will be a cross-gen release with a Switch 2 version likely also happening. Once again not crazy on the title, Metroid Prime Beyond feels like another fan title that’s used in a Youtube thumbnail. But man it feels like the end of an era with Prime 4 being released, I can remember this game being announced when I was not even in Highschool and now I’ve left Highschool which feels nuts. But yes I’m pretty excited for this one to release as is everyone else on the planet.

Still hard to believe this game actually exists and Nintendo actually remembered it existed

Anyway that was the Nintendo Direct and for being near the end of the Switch’s life and no announcement on it’s predecessor. Mario and Luigi is a day one purchase, as it Echoes of Wisdom, The two Capcom rereleases look phenomenal and of course Metroid Prime 4 Beyond looks mega snazzy. This might be in the running for one of the best Nintendo Directs ever or at least of the Switch era. Anyway that’s been all I’ve had to say for today, I’m gonna go read One Piece and until next time don’t get cooked and stay off the hook.

Leave a comment